Nepenthe Hop-ful IPA

Posted: April 7, 2012 in Recipes

Nepenthe Hop-ful IPA

I discovered this beer at a beer tasting at McKinnons in Salem NH. Then I discovered that this beer is from a new brewery that opened in Manchester NH. So I thought I would give it a shot, and I was not disappointed!  The beer poured a nice cloudy reddish brown with a nice hoppy head. The smell was of sweet malt and the front had a pleasant bitterness. The middle was slightly smoky with hints of fruit and malt flavors. The finish is where is gets good, a really nice sweet bitter bite. What a great beer! One of the best IPA’s I have had this year. Bold, well balanced and overall a complete beer. Congratulations the the Candia Road Brewing Company on their great start. I hope they keep it up. I could not find any info on ABV or IBU’s, but the guy at the beer tasting told me is was about 9.5% ABV. I don’t remember what he told me about the IBU’s. I will keep looking around, I am sure this brewing company will grow in popularity. Great job and I can’t wait to review their other beers.

Overall Grade: A

Cheers,

Matt

Leave a Reply

